Advancing the cause of area schools and rural education

About the NZASA

The New Zealand Area Schools Association has been formed to advance the cause of Area schools in particular and rural education in general.

The organisation promotes the continuous improvement and development of education for students of all ages as well as promoting the development of skills, and opportunities for learning and training for both Board of Trustees members and professionals: Principals and Teachers.

The association provides a forum for the exchange of ideas; support and advice for member schools and liaison with other educational bodies.

One of the aims of the organisation is to ensure that the collective views and opinions of Area School personnel are canvassed and heard nationally on matters of educational significance.

An Area School is defined as being a State school in a rural and often isolated setting which provides learning programmes based on the New Zealand Curriculum to students from Years 1 through to Y15. 

Our membership also covers Area Schools situated in an urban or rural setting who define themselves by their special character e.g. kura/reglious nature etc.

A Strategic Plan has been developed which the Committee are working to. This plan can be viewed by downloading the handbook or clicking here

 

Strategic Plan

The Executive :

 

President

Grant Burns

Principal

Tauraroa

principal@tauraroa.school.nz

Administrator

Lesley McCardle

EO

Mangakahia

lesleym@mangakahia.school.nz

Northland

Ringi Smith

BoT

Tauraroa

Ringi.smith@mwc.co.nz

Central North

Koren Hopoi

ActingPrincipal

Onewhero

k.hopoi@onewhero.school.nz

Top of the South

Kelvin Woodley

Principal

Tapawera

kwoodley@tapawera.school.nz

Top of the South

Annie Hughes

BoT

 

mikonui@xtra.co.nz

Canterbury

Steve Beck

Principal

Hurunui

sb@hurunuicollege.school.nz
Canterbury Debbie Fitzgibbon BoT Cheviot

dfitzgibbon@cheviot.school.nz

 

South of the South

John Auld

Principal

Lawrence Area School 

john@las.school.nz

South of the South

Paul Eason

BoT

 

overhill@crs.net.nz

________________________________________________________________________