Click here to view the Conference Programme

Click here for Welby Ings Keynote Address

Click here for Susan Bagshaw Healthy Youth Development a Great Way to Learn

Click here for Susan Bagshaw The Effects of Trauma on Developing Brains

The conference will be held at the Crowne Plaza Hotel, Christchurch

Start: 12.30 22 August 2018

Finish: 12.30 24 August 2018

An automatic invitation extends to all past Principals, Exec Members and staff who have received an Area School Recognition or Lifetime Award to come along and attending during the day and  join us in the conference dinner.  Accommodation costs will have to be borne at your own cost.


Crowne Plaza Hotel, Christchurch

Book your accommodation directly with the Crown Plaza.  There are limited rooms available at a very good price.    - click the link below.  When you put in the conference dates a code should come up automatically ASA - if not put this in to get the discounted rate.


$450.00  (including GST) Extras for dinner $75 per head


Book your air travel as soon as possible to save money! Please ensure you have booked your board members in also.


Please fill out the  registration form and send copy and payment details to Lesley McCardle at Mangakahia Area School ( Note payment MUST be made at time of registration. Preferred method by direct credit please.   Click here for registration form


Programme - Click here to see conference outline

Go to the following links to download workshop abstracts and workshop selection forms. 
Details to come.

Workshop/Keynote Speakers 

  • Minister Chris Hipkins
  • Susan Bagshaw
  • Lorraine Kerr
  • Welby Ings
  • Al Fone
  • Karyn Gray
  • Renzie Hanham
  • John Wright
  • Ian Hunter
  • Ashleigh Smith
  • Joe Bennett
  • Shane Fletcher



To view conference Waiata click here 


Lesley McCardle (0274 356 366)


Any remits to the constitution must be received by 15th July. The constitution may be viewed and printed by clicking on the link at the Constitution tab.


Life membership or recognition award nominations to be received by the Executive Committee at least one month prior to the Annual General meeting (to be held at conference).  For guidelines refer to the guidelines which appear at the back of the Constitution.    These nominations can be e mailed to the NZASA secretary at

Student award recognition - please view this policy and if you have any nominations send them in prior to conference - Student Excellence Award Policy


For any further information please contact Lesley McCardle on (09) 4331 702.





Patea Area School - the Journey so Far