Recognition Awards

Created with Sketch.

These awards recognise the people who have made a difference in the association.


Any Board of Trustees, or Staff member of an Area School may be awarded Life membership of the New Zealand Area Schools Association Incorporated at an annual general meeting. The prospective recipient can be nominated through a formal motion from a member school or from the national executive; however the awarding of Life Membership is at the discretion of the national executive. Any nominations must be received by the Executive Committee at least one month prior to the Annual General Meeting.

Life membership can only be awarded for outstanding service to the Area Schools Association Incorporated at either national or regional level.

A summary of that service will be provided to the Annual General Meeting by the National Executive or by the member when forwarding the motion.  Recipients of life awards (and their partner) are invited to the conference dinner and to one night’s accommodation at the conference venue. Costs payable by NZASA. Life membership awards made at conference dinner if the recipient is not a conference delegate.

The Executive may make awards for outstanding service to the Area Schools Association Incorporated at Annual Conferences.
These awards will recognise outstanding service at a National or Regional Level.
Nominations for these awards must be made through the Regional Executive members to the National Executive for consideration at least 1 month prior to National Conference each year.
Nominations must outline the nature of the outstanding service to area schools.
The Awards will be presented at the opening session of Conference each year and made by the National President.
Any Board of Trustees or staff member of an Area School may be nominated for these awards.
An Award may only be made to an individual once i.e. one lifetime and/or one recognition

Lifetime Awards:
Jack Jones – Mercury Bay Area School
Carol Moffatt – Oxford Area School
Jill Paaka George Payne – Tauraroa Area School
Barry Johnson – Cheviot Area School
Robyn Bristow – Oxford Area School
Juliet Ralfe – Whangamata Area School
Chris McIntosh – Waiau College
Bernard Klitscher – Catlins Area School
John Garner – Collingwood Area School
Murray Douglas – Mangakahia Area School
Alex MacCreadie – The Catlins Area School
Andrew McNicol – Onewhero Area
School Colin Lindsay – South Westland Area School
Peter Hartnall – Amuri Area School
Grant Burns – Tauraroa Area School
Kit Williams – Whangamata Area School
John Wright – Mercury Bay (2022)
Recognition Awards:
Les Robertson – Taipa Area School Murray Patterson, The Catlins Area School
Gerald Koberstein – Mangakahia Area School Teresa Bennetts, Roxburgh Area School
Hank Zwanikken – Collingwood Area School Maureen Compton, Roxburgh Area School
John McKenzie – Panguru Area School Bob Norrish – Oxford Area School
Colin Lindsay – Maniototo Area School Bill Feasey – Twizel Area School
Lesley McCardle – Mangakahia Area School John Haerewa – Rerekohu Kura
Allan Easte – Hurunui College Mike Smith – Mercury Bay Area School
Jane Fraser – Hurunui College John Auld – Lawrence Area School
Anne Stead – Mangakahia Area School Sharon Watson – Collingwood Area School
Jen Rodgers – Cheviot Area School (2016) Angela Sloane – South Westland
Kate Anderson – Lawrence Area School (2022)